If you don’t know about Instagram metrics, how will you analyze your business strategy and tactics?
Tracking the Instagram metrics is crucial to improve your business account and build an engaged following.
Therefore, planning a good Instagram marketing strategy is made up from having a clear objective and goal, tactics, and measurable performance metrics. Because of that if one piece of the chain is missing, the whole chain will break.
So in this post, you are going to know everything you need to learn about Instagram metrics.
For Instance, what Instagram metrics mean, where to find them, what you can do with them to empower your Instagram marketing.
At first, to be able to see analytics, you must activate your ‘Business account’ on Instagram. If you haven’t done that yet, you will learn by reading this post.
The actual number of persons who have seen your post is called ‘Reach’.
However, the Reach rate is the number of audiences who have seen your post divided by the number of your followers.
Instagram shows Reach in numbers and the Reach rate in percentage.
The average reach rate of all your posts published in a selected time period is the average reach rate per post.
The number of times your contents like posts or stories and even your profile has been viewed during a selected period of time are called ‘Impressions’.
This metric counts how many times your content has made an impression on a person.
For Instance: if a person has seen your story three times, this will be counted as 3 impressions and 1 Reach.
It is all your comments, likes and saves divided by the count of followers at the time of the post.
The Engagement on Reach is all your comments, likes and saves for a post divided by your posts’ Reach and not your followers.
Your business account has 100 followers and just 150 people have seen your current post that got 20 likes.
Therefore, “Engagement Rate” would be 20% for this content and “Engagement on Reach” would be perhaps more exact 13% now you can judge the success of your post.
The rule of thumb on Instagram applies to the most metrics, if you have more followers then the engagement rate is low.
When the number of your followers increase, your rates will go down.
In the real world, my account has around 3.2K followers and my engagement rate is 8.58% per photo. However, Kim Kardashian Engagement Rate of Kim Kardashian by about 108.5M followers is 1.97%.
How can I look for Reach, Impressions, and Engagement?
On your Instagram business account, you can find these metrics under a specific content you want to analyze using Instagram’s ‘Native Insights’.
The most important metric for many people is Followers Growth.
It is the additional number of followers gained over a specific period of time.
You want to try different tactics to engage and grow followers and see which one works for you, if you’ve been losing them like crazy.
The count of Instagram posts which mentioning your Instagram as tagged in a post, or mentioned in the caption.
6- PROFILE VISITS
The count of visits on your profile page on Instagram.
This metric includes the number of taps to email your business in your Instagram business profile.
The number of clicks to email your business divided by the count of profile views as the percentage is Email Clicks Rate.
9- ‘GET DIRECTIONS’ CLICKS
Exactly the same as the previous two examples:
The number of taps made to get directions to your business equal to ‘Get directions’ clicks.
The number of ‘get direction’ taps divided by the total number of profile views is named ‘Get directions’ click rate.
For Instance: This button has been clicked 147 times in the last 30 days and Your profile has been viewed 35 945 times, therefore your ‘Get directions’ click rate is 0.41%.
It is the number of clicks on the website on your Business Instagram profile.
Rate metric of this factor is a percentage that shows the number of visits divided by the total number of profile views over a selected time period.
On Instagram, your short bio link is the only place which Instagram tracks the click on the URL.
Increase your brand awareness and drive traffic with putting a URL in your bio.
It is the number of saves that your post has collected.
The number of saves your posts have gathered over a selected time period is called ‘Average saves’.
For Instance: the last 30 days, your business account published 7 posts and gathered 28 saves, your average saves are 4.
This metric is the number of views your video gathered based on the date range you’ve selected.
The number of times the video post has been viewed, divided by the count of impressions that video has received is the View Rate.
Note: A person has seen your post, but not watched the video. In this case, it would not count as 1 view, but 1 impression.
12-TAGS ON BRANDED HASHTAG
Your own hashtag that you made to build a community around your business and set an Instagram trend is Branded Hashtag.
The number of media posted using your hashtag is called ‘Tags on a hashtag’.
METRICS for INSTAGRAM STORIES
It shows how many audiences left your Story without watching it to the last frame.
- While viewing your Story, user closed Instagram
- Clicked on the close icon on the top-right corner of Story
- Swiped down the media by the user and ending back on the main feed
The number of exits divided by the count of impressions is the Exit Rate.
It shows from Instagram Insight, how many viewers swiped and not clicked, to move to another user’s Story swipe left or right.
This metrics represents The number of clicks a person made to see the next photo or video.
This metric can play as a warning sign, if you have a high volume of taps forward, this might mean that your Story wasn’t attractive, or it was too long.
Be Careful, when you placed a sticker too close to the right side of the screen, A tap forward can also happen.
The user to see your previous photo or video made some taps, the number of taps create this metric.
The high volume of this metric can represent as a signal that users liked your previous Story enough to re-watch it, or liked your current Story very much that they tapped back quickly and then tapped forward to watch it again.
The number of Direct Messages which you received from your Story in Direct Message box.
Where can I find these metrics for stories?
On Instagram, just you must tap on Insights → Stories → apply the filter
This metric is a count of all “shortcuts” audience takes to finish your story before it actually ends.
It is a total of swipe away, exits, tap backs and tap forwards.
It helps you to know which percentage of people have watched your Story until the last frame. The formula is 100% minus the exit rate.
METRICS for INSTAGRAM LIVE
On Instagram using live is one of the biggest trends right now.
The count of live viewers is the only metric to measure your live success.
This metric counts once an audience joins the broadcast to view.
Immediately after you go live, the number of live viewers is the upper-left corner of your screen.
At the end of your broadcast, you will find the ultimate number of live viewers who have watched any part of your live video.
METRICS for INSTAGRAM ADS
21-CLICKTHROUGH RATE (CTR)
This metric always is shown in percentages.
The count of taps that your ad gathered (clicks), divided by the number of times your ad was shown (impressions).
22-COST PER CLICK (CPC)
You’re charged for one single click amount of money on your ad and its CPC.
23-AVERAGE COST PER CLICK
The total cost of your clicks divided by the total number of clicks is Average Cost Per Click.
For Instance: your ad gathers two clicks and one costs $0.20 and another costs $0.40, therefore you spent $0.60 in total.
Now, if you divide $0.60 by 2, so the average CPC is $0.30.
The count of clicks your ad received.